Elite Academy 3×3 Tournament: BMet Rockets Reach Quarterfinals

Our Rockets Academy at BMet College took to the road on Wednesday to compete in the Elite Academy 3×3 Tourament at the National Basketball Performance Centre in Manchester.

The tournament was be used as an opportunity to identify players to represent England at the School Games National Finals event in Loughborough, held between Thursday 29 August 2024 and Sunday 1 September 2024.

Two Rockets teams took to the court, the first of which bounced back well from an early setback against Barking Abbey to reach the quarterfinal stage.

Larry Duru, Daniel Anumba, Corey Fox & Jude Hyland recorded a second placed finish in Pool 2 – ensuring their progression to the knockout stages of the competition.

Their run included impressive wins against Derby Trailblazers & Myerscough Academy en-route to the quarterfinals, where they would eventually be edged out by Leeds City.

Their results in full:

Game 1: vs Barking Abbey 6-13 (L)

Game 2: vs Derby Trailblazers 15-13 (W)

Game 3: vs Myerscough 11-9 (W)

Game 4: vs Coppleston 18-10 (W)

Quarterfinals: vs Leeds City 9-7 (L)

Nektarios Papadopolous, Ethan Haywood, Corey Davis & Reuben Ubogu made up the other Rockets team on the day – with the team unfortunate to fall short of reaching the knockout phase after a couple of close defeats.

Their results in full:

Game 1: vs Canterbury 10-9 (L)

Game 2: vs Sheffield 12-13 (L)

Game 3: vs Oaklands 13-15 (L)

Game 4: vs JMA Academy II 16-11 (W)

Game 5: vs Charnwood 14-9 (L)

Rockets BMet Academy Head Coach Ricardo D’Alva was pleased with the effort and talent on display from our young Rockets.

“It was a really well organised event and I am really proud with how both our teams faught,” he said.

“It was really promising to see our first year guys compete, and beat, some really strong teams which included some third year players – this is a promising sign for us going into next season.”

To learn more about our BMet Rockets Academy and to express your interest in September 2024 enrolment, click here!